I’ve got a fever and the only prescription is more VUVUZELA

Am I slightly World Cup obsessed? Why, yes, yes I am. Let’s put it this way, when my 5 years of free mystery cable disappeared in March, I was ok with it. Despite Nutsak not having Animal Planet to watch while I was gone (he had to watch PBS), I was quite alright with not having cable. Until  World Cup rolled around. Then, I couldn’t get the cable installed fast enough.

And thank the baby jeebus, World Cup 2010 has not disappointed. I’m not talking about the games, though they have been thrilling. Until the 12th, I was excited about the games, but not completely invested in any particular teams since Colombia didn’t qualify.

But then, during the national anthems for the UK/US match, the cameras panned over the US team and introduced me to this:

well hello cutie! Who might you be?  Oh, just the captain for the US team, Carlos Bocanegra.  Let’s see what else I can find about you:

my vuvuzela's about to ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

and

God. Bless. America.

I have never felt so damn patriotic in my life.

Never one to be chained down by one country, Uruguay is also receiving some support:

Diego Forlan

I might even cheer on France:

Yoann Gourcuff

Oh, soccer. Americans don’t know what they are missing.

And once more just because:

~ by pithycomments on June 17, 2010.

5 Responses to “I’ve got a fever and the only prescription is more VUVUZELA”

  1. Well, I’m not normally interested in football (despite being from a country that is OBSESSED with it – and a country that didn’t make it through the qualifiers for the WC!!!) but I have a vested interest purely because we’re doing a world cup prediction contest in work and I’m not doing very well! And now you’ve pointed out some good looking football totty for me to look out for, I won’t be looking away from the tv for the rest of the month!!!

  2. WELL HELLLOOOOOOO. what did you say his name was? bocaneYES YES YES YES YEESSSSS ..ahem. i’m sorry. what were we talking about?

  3. I know! SWEET LORD THEY ARE HOT!

    Honestly, I even have a little crush on Dempsey. I really think this sport-induced hotness is exclusive to football.

  4. Heyo! Thanks for the eye candy…totally needed it today 🙂

  5. If I didn’t know better, I’d say you OD’d on Vuvuzela and have been living on the streets for the last 2 years… ping?

Leave a comment