Patience possess ye your Farscape

About a year ago, I wrote about my love for the quirky sci-fi show, Farscape. Along with Gilmore Girls, this is one of my most pimped shows and as I wrote, the lone TV on DVD collection that remained out of grasp.

I discovered this show in its final season, with only 7 eps until the untimely series finale.  After graduation, I reacquainted myself with the shows I had missed senior year: Alias, ER and Stargate SG-1. One night, I tuned in a little early for  my weekly date w. the hotties of SG1 and saw the last  5 minutes of the preceding show.

I was hooked. I had no idea what this show was, who these people were, why they were kinda-sorta-breaking-up-but-not-really but something about that scene grabbed me.  I started watched the remaining episodes, along with reruns, scoured blogs and TWoP for everything I could find on this show. The more I watched, the more I fell in love w. it.

It was 20 kinds of quirky/crazy (not exactly True Blood season 2 crazy, but crazy in it’s own way), 2 of the main cast were muppet/puppets things from Jim Henson (which most people have issue getting past) , extremely sexy (tons black leather and  hints of S&M)  visually appealing with colorful set design and the makeup/prosthetic, clever writing w. plenty of snarky and funny lines (“It’s not you it’s me. I don’t like you.”) and finally the epic love story of John and Aeryn. Their relationship is probably one of the best things about Farscape and it takes you on all sorts of an emotional roller coaster. Other than Rory’s graduation from Chilton and the last 2 eps of Gilmore Girls, Farscape is the only other show that can make me tear up, no matter how many times I’ve seen that particular ep.

After blogging last year, I decided that since my Google research and various blogs didn’t seem to have any info about Farscape dvds I should nut up and start buying the series as cheaply as I could. From November until about March, I hunted down deals on eBay and Amazon like a Cougar stalks her prey at a college bar. I had alerts set up,  refined my search terms,  and the fastest double-click this side of the Mississippi.  Sloooooowly I amassed seasons 2-4, in a combination of a box set and individual dvds.  Season 1 was out of even my fangirly price range, starting at 80 for a used box set.

Then came  July 2, 2009.

I was innocently scrolling through my Google Reader when I saw this item from Sci-Fi Wire:

“Farscape

Farscape will drop on DVD in The Complete Series Megaset in November as the show marks its 10th anniversary, with all four seasons and hours of extras; executive producer Brian Henson, creator Rockne O’Bannon and stars Ben Browder and Claudia Black will be at this year’s Comic-Con International in San Diego to discuss their favorite moments from the series and the DVD re-release.”

What followed was me jumping up and down in my cube, excitedly whisper-shouting “OMG. FARSCAPE!?!?!!!!!!!!” over and over again.  I’m sure if you ask Flippy for a demonstration at the next happy hour, she will gladly to re-enact it for you.

Once I had scaled down from OMGWTFBBQ levels of excitement to merely ZOMG levels, I started frantically searching for a release date and a price.  Info was embargoed until the Farscape panel at Comin-Con, later in the month. Day after their panel, I was a woman on a mission. I WOULD find info about the dvds despite the fact that my sci-fi/entertainment blogs were dedicating their CC coverage to True Blood, Twilight and others of the fanged persuasion and had no mention of what was obviously a monumental event. I tell you, journalists these days…a-hem.

Finally I was able to find this gem from TVshowsonDVD.com:

FARSCAPE: THE COMPLETE SERIES MEGASET™  Never Before Available in One Complete Package, All Four Fan Favorite Seasons Have Finally Been United In One Stellar 25 Disc Set ($149.95 SRP)    IN STORES NOVEMBER 17

FARSCAPE: THE COMPLETE SERIES MEGASET™ Never Before Available in One Complete Package, All Four Fan Favorite Seasons Have Finally Been United In One Stellar 25 Disc Set ($149.95 SRP) IN STORES NOVEMBER 17

That high-pitched fangirl-y squeeeeeeeeee you heard? Yeah, that was me. Amazon.com had it up for pre-order later that same week,  for a little over $100, (there may or may not have been another squeeeee) which if I do the math correctly is probably less than what I’ve paid for the seasons I have now.  I could order *just* the missing season, b-b-but new packaging? Special features? Brand-spanking new DVDs? Better quality? Mommy want. Mommy want reaaaaaaal bad.  I waited about .002 nanoseconds before ordering it. I did sell most of the Farscape dvds that I had back on eBay to supplement this new purchase. Pretty sure I lost money somewhere in all this, but it will sooooo be worth it in 51 days.

Please don’t judge me.

~ by pithycomments on September 30, 2009.

One Response to “Patience possess ye your Farscape”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

 
