Must See TV

A recent a  Tweet-versation reminded me that thanks to my cult-like upbringing, I missed out on a LOT of pop culture and even more troubling, some vital formative movies from childhood  While VH1’s various “I Love the 70s’/80s’/90” has filled in a lot of my pop culture gaps,  there is still a sad dearth.  I know a lil’ Netflix re-adjustment would help, but I have like3 seasons of Dr. Who and 2 of Torchwood to get to, last half of BSG, Pushing Daisies and that’s just the Netflix. We won’t talk about the personal collection.

But, I do need to fix this, but half the time I don’t know what movies I’m missing. I do have a partial list, to which I’m always adding to, but I’m sure I’ve left some out:

  • ET (as a kid, my neighbor offered to pay for MommaPithy and I to go see this. MP turned her down, since, y’know…it glorified evolution.)
  • Pretty in Pink
  • Sixteen Candles
  • Breakfast Club
  • Newsies
  • Karate Kid (I’ve seen clips…I think)
  • Goonies
  • Say Anything
  • pretty much any Disney Cartoon (I have been making progress in the last 5 years and if they would just open that goddamned vault!!!)
  • I’ve only seen the Star Wars movies once, and that was when I was a senior in college.
  • The first 2 Back to the Future movies (seen the 3rd repeatedly)
  • The Christmas Story
  • The 2nd Indiana Jones movie
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (but I was allowed to watch Parker Lewis Can’t Lose)
  • Dirty Dancing
  • Flashdance
  • Caddyshack (seen most of it, I think)
  • Beetlejuice (again, clips only)
  • Most of Gremlins
  • The Last Unicorn (Flippy contributed this to my list, and honestly, I’ve never even heard of it)
  • Fast Times at Ridgemont High
  • Can’t Buy Me Love
  • Grease
  • Saturday Night Fever
  • Willow

The list of movies I have seen seems a little off in comparison:

  • All the Airport disaster movies, hence my immense fear of flying as a kid
  • West Side Story
  • All Audrey Hepburn movies
  • Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin movies
  • the Ma and Pa Kettle series
  • Abbot and Costello (but none of the Stooges. MP hated them)
  • the Smokey and the Bandit series
  • Cannonball Run series (thinking about it now, this could explain my driving skills)

Now for TV, it gets even sadder. No Saturday morning cartoons, ever! You name it, I didn’t watch it. Somehow I was able to sneak in some Saved by the Bell, but that was with major lectures before and after each ep, to ensure I wouldn’t “backslide“.

Did I miss any movies?  Lemme know and feel free to mock me. God knows that Flippy does.

~ by pithycomments on July 24, 2009.

5 Responses to “Must See TV”

  1. You have never seen TEMPLE OF DOOM? Oh, it’s my favorite.

    Have you seen BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA?

    Never even heard of Lil’ China til you Tweeted about it.

  2. Wait a minute — I thought you HAD seen Willow? “It has Val Kilmer and midgets” — Pithy, 2008.

    see, this and Deliverance fall under the category of movies that I feel like I’ve watched b/c they seem so familiar, but cannot actually be sure if I did. But, unlike you, I do not have anything against watching Willow, just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  3. Indiana Jones and Naked Gun series.

    Haven’t seen the 2nd Indiana movie, but I’ve seen the Naked Gun movies and caught several eps of the original TV show. Leslie Nielsen was a cutie.

  4. ok, i had a pretty culty upbringing devoid of popular culture as well, but WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING SINCE COLLEGE YOUNG LADY?? i have spent the past decade watching (and being forced to watch my friends) nearly every movie on that list. uh, except flashdance. and caddyshack. and gremlins. and the last unicorn (HUH??) and fast times and ok, uh, so apparently i’ve seen star wars and that’s about it. nevermind.

    it’s hard to catch up, especially when trying to stay current. I should have a marathon and bang ’em all out.

  5. PRINCESS BRIDE!!!!!!!!!!

    one of the few, the proud, the ones I’ve actually seen!! I did just buy the dvd, so I was slacking in some regard.

Leave a Reply

 
