still a skin virgin…for now

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been fascinated with tattoos. As a kid,  I would draw on my hand with a marker and pretend I had a tattoo. Once MommaPithy found out (and literally whooped my ass) I stopped. I could never draw worth a shit anyway.   Once I moved out, I began plotting/gathering up the courage to get inked.

One my 26th birthday, I got my nose pierced, with a tattoo planned later that summer. This was when the Unnamed One had a name and we had planned on getting our tattoos together. Right after my birthday, The Unnamed One became ill and I spent the rest of my summer being her nurse and her mom’s chauffeur.  No tattoo for me.  I spent the money helping UO pay her bills. Once UO got better, her stupidity (let’s call it Rihanna-itis) kicked in and I pretty much spent a year as a hermit, avoiding people and places to avoid drama.  I really didn’t feel like getting inked anymore.

After a year with my new non-crazy friends, the tattoo plans were reborn.  Again, money was saved and a date planned. And again something happened  and plans had to be scrapped.  Never one to be v. good w/ the pesos, I spent it on clothes.  My TV on DVD addiction was limited to Gilmore Girls at that time.

And now MORE times has passed and my 30th birthday is less than 3 months away. I’m still a skin virgin as the Sex Therapist calls it.  Once again I have (or will have once the taxman shows me some love) the pesos to pop my skin cherry.   And once again I’m planning with my peeps to get inked.  (I may have to adjust that since group planning for this has been my downfall).

With trips planned for Spain and Colombia (!!!) this summer, I’m going to be around lots of family. There’s no way I can get the ink done before No Sangria Left Behind, b/c chances of MommaPithy seeing the ink would be v. high.  I do not want to spend my vacation hearing how I’ve finally become a child of Satan. There’s not enough sangria in the world to make that remotely tolerable.

I have enough time before the Colombia trip to get the ink done and healed. MommaPithy isn’t going, but TioPithy is. However, chances of him seeing the ink, are minuscule. (mind out of gutter, I’m not getting my naughty bits done). My cousin *might* see it, but she’s waaaay more open-minded and less likely to call an emergency exorcism.

I’ve already have the body placement (lower ab/hip-ish area), design,  artist and shop picked out.  I’ve researched my design and so far have not found any links to fertility, satanic, christian or republican symbols. A combination of the two images below is what I’m plotting for this June. Nothing too flowery, but something slightly feminine with  exotic henna-y goodness .

henna-tattoo

not getting it this big or on my back

tattoo

the original inspiration

I get the feeling that once I pop my skin cherry, I’m going back for more.  I’m a whore like that sometimes…

~ by pithycomments on March 10, 2009.

5 Responses to “still a skin virgin…for now”

  1. Hi thanks for a great post. I’ll be back 🙂

  2. It’ll look gorgeous on you!

    not gonna lie, it’s on the list but more towards the end of the list

  3. I absolutely love it. I’ve always thought about getting one… but like you said, I’m afraid it wouldn’t be just one…

    join us. You know you want to. All the cool kids are doing it

  4. Sometimes I want one, sometimes I don’t. I love the way they look…but i’m just not sure about them on me.

    do a small one in an inconspicuous area

  5. It’ll look so sexy! You’re braver than I am..needles are no good for me.

    we could knock you out first!

Leave a Reply

 
