Hoya Saxa, baby!!!

Holy crap, I got into Georgetown University! Starting in January, I’m going for my masters. Again. For the third time. Third time’s the charm, right?

After the my tour w/ baptist colleges, I really wanted to go to a “real” school. One that had a history that went back further than 30 years and didn’t include a purple Teletubbie scandal. Nor did I want a school whose sports “tradition” involved throwing marshmallows at the opponent’s team. Ooooh, marshmallows…that’ll scare ’em!!

I did a quick stint at George Mason University, but the program and I didn’t click at all. I only went there because working in insurance was beginning to drive me nutty and I needed something other than clubbing on the weekends to distract me.

After GMU came UB. It was a slightly better fit, with working on the school paper and all, but in the end, the graphic design mounted my ass on unevenly-cut Letramax board. Despite having moved to Ghetto-more for the school, I was burnt out waaay before the first Wire extra visited my car.

I was completely happy with not completing my masters. I did fell a little silly that I had gone through all the trouble and had racked up quite the balance w/ that Evil!Character, Aunt Sallie Mae, but I was good.  Then after the first few months of doing nothing, I started to get restless. The kind of restless that leads to me doing something stupid, like perming my hair.

So one night I was Googling around and found that Georgetown had a masters program tailored for working adults, much like UB did. Further poking around revealed that this program was awesome (just like me!!) and might just be the program I had been needing all these years. It’s a newer program, which wasn’t around when I was looking for grad schools in ’05.

And so I applied. And they seem to think I’m worth it. Here’s to 2 years of stressing, writing, freaking out over assignments, schlepping around bookbags that are way too heavy, schlepping said bookbags on a storied campus, wearing Gtown hoodies, meeting new people, making new friends and giving Aunt Sallie Mae the remaining bits of my soul!

To me, this is on the same level of excitement as when Rory got into Yale, Harvard and Princeton. And if anyone wants to make me a t-shirt, I’ll totally wear it!

Hoya Saxa, bitches.

~ by pithycomments on November 6, 2008.

9 Responses to “Hoya Saxa, baby!!!”

  1. Wow congratulations!!! That’s amazing 🙂

  2. That’s the liberal studies program–it’s good. I’m there and I’ve enjoyed it quite a bit.

  3. So basically what you’re saying is that you’d like to work my overnight shift so you can take classes during the day. Word.

  4. congrats gal!

  5. congrats!!!!!!

  6. Congratulations!

  7. Congrats! I did school and worked full-time for years… it’s definitely grueling, but worth it. Plus, the booze is so well-deserved, it tastes better! Woot!

  8. @ Everyone but Sherpa: Thank you!!

    @ Sherpa: Nice try.

  9. Yeah for you!! I hope you love every minute of it!

Leave a Reply

 
