lasagna and Fringe: sooo not a good combo

Dear J.J. Abrams,

Thank you ever so much, J.J.,  for ensuring that I a) will be taking a boat to Spain next year cuz trans-Atlantic flights are baaaad, and b) ensuring that I never eat during your show again.

See, I was planning on a lovely ooey-gooey, melty, cheesey, lasagna dinner while I watched Fringe‘s premiere last night, but while dinner was heating, the peeps in the plane had this lil problem…with their faces melting.  Or in the case of the ever-so-unfortunate co-pilot, HAVING HIS ENTIRE FUCKING JAW  SLO-O-O-WLY FALL OFF!!

Dude.  A pre-melted heads up would have been nice. My lasagna went from tasty to a possible bio-chemical terrorist attack with ricotta cheese filling.

While I am trying to diet, unexpected Facial Melt-itis isn’t my preferred method of killing cravings. That said, putting a screencap of Melty McCo-pilot on my fridge might be more effective than that pic of me at my ideal-ish weight, but chances are that I’ll forget Sir Melts-a-Lot is there and like the good Dr. Lord Denethor, I’ll piss myself when I see it.

So, J.J., let’s come to an agreement shall we? You warn me if the ep is food-friendly or not and I’ll stick to dinners that don’t lend themselves to possible special effects grossness.  Like dry toast.

kthxbai,

Pithy

~ by pithycomments on September 10, 2008.

7 Responses to “lasagna and Fringe: sooo not a good combo”

  1. HA, I was doing the same thing–so excited, prepping for the show and recapping and boom, melty faces killed my dinner.

    Still love me some J.J.

  2. I don’t think many of the episodes will be food-friendly. So a different dinner time will probably be necessary…

  3. hahaha, that is way too funny.

  4. I just watched the episode online earlier today and, although I wasn’t eating at the time, I couldn’t help but think, “this would not be a good show to watch while eating dinner.” I actually got a little sick during the opening plane scene and I can usually eat and watch CSI without problems.

  5. Oh that would put ME off eating too. and it takes a lot to do that!

  6. I’ve now watched it twice and just can’t get into it. And I love Joshua Jackson in a slightly disturbing, should-not-be-publicly-admitted sorta way. What gives?

  7. @KassyK: I planned ahead this week and ate way before Fringe came on. Sadly it was lasagna again.

    @Angela: If I ever eat during the show again it will be saltine crackers. They can’t make that gross…

    @izikavazo: Gracias!

    @justanotherjen: I’m waiting for the eventual YouTube clip where all the gross parts of the show are put together. I will then use that as an appetite suppressant.

    @Paula: Oh, this show will do it.

    @kjohnsonesq: Same here, I heart JJ Abrams’ stuff, but this hasn’t grabbed me the way Alias or Lost did. But Lost has Sawyer and Alias had SuperSpyStuff. Giving this one some time. Maybe Pasty will grow on me.

Leave a Reply

 
