Reading is Sexy

It’s that time of year again — Payment of Library Fines in 3 States! Something about warm weather and lovely breezes brings out the bookworm in me. And since I can’t possibly afford to buy all the books I am currently lusting over, I gotta make peace with the Arlington County, DC and Montgomery County library systems. I have a teeny tiny problemo remembering to return stuff on time. Arlington County should have a shelf dedicated to me since I’ve “donated” so many times. (around $100 and that’s not counting the current fine. No clue what that one is). DC is my newest victim, but $24 is nothing really.

Now, the Montgomery County library system? Assholes. Fuckers sent me to collections for a $22 fine. Yes, I ignored their first couple of “You owe us money, bitch” notes, but I figured they would do what countless libraries in Virginia had done: dock my account until I tried to use it again and then hit me with a fine. But sending me to collections…really MoCo, was that necessary? Granted, you probably would never had seen that $22 since I don’t work in MoCo anymore, but sending the collections notice when my mother was visiting was very uncool of you. (also not cool is having your mother lecture you on responsibility over said notice when you’re 28. That was so not a fun conversation. If she could have, she would have spanked me.)

Now, I have indulged myself and bought several books over the last few months, so I can avoid DC library fines for a little while, but I’m thinking this time I’ll be better about the whole returning on time thing. I hope.

Since I shared my musical tastes yesterday (and I know you all are book whores like me), here are some of what’s on my personal reading menu:

  • Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion
  • Chocolat by Joanne Harris (the movie Chocolat with the yummy Johnny Depp was based on this)
  • Mirror, Mirror by Gregory Maguire (dude who wrote Wicked)
  • Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire
  • Guerilla Warfare by Che Guevara
  • Death of a Revolutionary: Che Guevara’s Last Mission by Richard L. Harris
  • Shakespeare: The World as Stage by Bill Bryson (I love his stuff. My goal is to own all his books)
  • Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson
  • Bryson’s Dictionary for Writers and Editors by Bill Bryson (comes out on May 20, 2008….just in time for my birthday, hint hint)
  • Shopaholic & Baby by Sophie Kinsella
  • The Girl With No Shadow by Joanne Harris (sequel to Chocolat)
  • Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire (sequel to Wicked)
  • Sex and the City by Candace Bushnell

Feel free to throw some suggestions my way. I’m always looking for a chick lit guilty pleasure or two.

~ by pithycomments on May 15, 2008.

6 Responses to “Reading is Sexy”

  1. I loved Something Borrowed and the sequel Something Blue, by Emily Giffen. Was also a big fan of Sammy’s Hill and the sequel Sammy’s House, by Kristen Gore. I’m also going through a Jodi Piccoult phase. Easy reads that keep you entertained.

  2. I think I’ve given you all mine… but I’m a big Marianne Keys fan.. make for great beach reading..

  3. sounds like you need to check out bookmooch 🙂 I lurrve this site…you put up 10 books to give away, and as people “mooch” them from you you get points. with points….you get books. you only need to pay for the shipping and really? media mail is pretty cheap!

    as far as chick lit? I love anything jane green, check out “Certain Girls” and “good in bed” by Jennifer Weiner. Omg…she’s an incredible writer.

    Seriously? I’m the biggest book nerd ever. I keep track of all the books i read over on my blog on the book page so you might find some titles over there 🙂

    and boo to moco for the collections. That’s effin’ lame man.

  4. Oh man – “MoCo!” I haven’t heard that since I left high school!

    I went to Seneca Valley in Germantown.

  5. @ supergirl: I can’t believe I forgot to put Jodi on my list. Elliot always interviews here when she has a new book out and I’m always thinking I would like her books.

    @ Heidi: checking out bookmoochy and your book page

    @ apollo: hee, small world. I worked in Gaithersburg.

  6. I loved Chocolat and didn’t realize there was a sequel– I’ll have to read that!

    Here are some suggestions of mine:
    The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (which they are making into a movie with Rachel McAdams!)

    Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

    Rosie Dunne by Cecilia Ahern (author of PS, I Love you)

Leave a Reply

 
