Needing a little salsa in my life

I am in the midst of a huge salsa craving. No, not the kind you eat, though some Tostitos and my signature Dip would be good right about now. Or Chipotle. The salsa I’m craving is the dancing kind.

I haven’t gone salsa dancing in over a year. When I first moved to DC, She-Who-Will-Not-Be-Named and I would go to Adams Morgan every weekend for dancing. Two years worth of Friday’s and Saturday’s spent with music, mojitos, bad ventilation and sweaty, little Hispanic men sniffing for a green card…gawd how I miss it.

The craving began a few weeks ago with a unplanned visit to Cafe Citron with Flippy and another co-worker (haven’t come up w/ a nickname that I like for him). There some light salsa dancing ensued. Then came Drink de Mayo, with Mexican/Colombian meals, salsa music blaring and a little kitchen dancing. Frying with hot oil while dancing? Yup, I’m a pro at it.

And today. After receiving a concert notice for Lila Downs (Kennedy Center this September!!) and listening to some of her music on her site, I popped over to Pandora and created a new playlist: musica protesta (protest songs from the 60s and 70s when South America had US-backed dictatorships to deal with) and the occasional gypsy jazz song. Not exactly dance inspiring music for most, but for me, it’s oddly comforting and reminds me of my heritage which in turn, makes me want to dance.

Since the Late Unpleasantness first began, I avoided the old haunts. Once I got over that I was too busy with school to go dancing. Now I don’t have either standing in my way. I do however hang out with (and please no offense here) all white people who can be a little boring at times. There’s no popped collars or strands of pearls, but a night of salsa dancing?? Ha! Once the novelty wears off (usually about 20 minutes, 30 if they get the stalk of sugar cane in their mojitos) the gringitos get bored and want to leave. Or they imbibe rapidly in hopes of becoming drunk, thus being able to tolerate the evening. Meanwhile I’m chugging mojitos like water, moving non-stop, dancing with anything, huge grin on my face and having the time of my life.

Don’t get me wrong, I heart my white peeps, but a girl like me can only take so much. American food is boring, ok, make that very boring, American music is ok, but after a while it all sounds the same (what up Maroon 5). Your soap operas have nothing on ours, and no white chick can put a boy in his place like a Latina. It’s an art form really. And if the search terms that people have used to find my blog are any indication, you likey our lovely lady lumps.

Sometimes, I wish my spicy peeps weren’t so far away. Or that I could find white peeps that were into spicy side of life a little more. It’s not like they have to be fluent in Spanish or dance professionally, just willing to give the spicy side of life a whirl.

ps. anyone looking to diversify their iPods with musica protesta or Spanish music beyond Ricky Martin and Shakira, here are some recommendations: Victor Jara, Silvio Rodriguez, Mercedes Sosa, Chavela Vargas, Lila Downs, Molotov, Carlos Vives, Joe Arroyo…the list goes on and on.

~ by pithycomments on May 14, 2008.

3 Responses to “Needing a little salsa in my life”

  1. It’s not that I don’t liiiike salsa dancing, it’s that I can’t do it. Remember Elaine from Seinfeld? Picture her as a short, round leprechaun in Dupont. No me gusta.

    Although, now that I think about it, how could a short, round leprechaun be boring?

  2. They have lessons!! I suck at it too, but ain’t no way my lovely lady lumpage can go without an entourage of leprechauns. I need something to trip the cholos as I run away from them.

  3. you forgot about los amigos invisibles!

Leave a Reply

 
