I heart me some caffeine

It’s raining. A lot. I’m working the butt-crack-of-dawn shift this week while the Coach frolics in Spain. As my little tootsies hit the floor when my alarm went off at the ungodly hour of 4.30-ish, I was alerted to the fact that my basement apt had a new feature: the indoor wading pool. I threw a few towels down, plopped my wet curtains in the laundry hamper and then realized I would be late for work. I fully expect to find my cat swimming when I get home. Two towels ain’t doing much w/ this deluge.

Working the early shift requires more caffeine that I usually consume.  My 24 oz. travel mug does the trick most days, with the occasional Starbucks run in the late afternoon.  On the early shift, 24 oz. of coffee is like orange juice: tasty, but not really waking me up.

So, after swinging by the Metro to pick up a co-worker, I headed straight to Starbucks for another hit. Apparently ordering a Venti white chocolate mocha with four extra shots causes the baristas to gasp in horror and repeatedly ask, “Are you sure you want 6 shots?!?!?!?!” Yes, I’m sure. Very sure.

When  the early shift was my shift I would down the standard 24 oz. of coffee by 7 a.m., follow it another cup from the wonderful Gevalia machine, a diet Coke with lunch and a Diet Rock Star for a little afternoon pick-me-up.  And I would still take a nap when I got home.

I’m about halfway through my six shots of yummy, yummy caffeine, Elliot in the Morning blaring in the headphones, and I still about to pass out on my keyboard.  Making those Sales-Calls-That-Aren’t-Sales-Calls-But-Really-Are-Sales-Calls is gonna be soooooo much fun.

~ by pithycomments on May 12, 2008.

3 Responses to “I heart me some caffeine”

  1. holy caffeine batman!!!

    I gave up caffeine…and then started drinking sunkist because i thought that all orange soda (like Fanta) was caffeine free. Oh contrare…i was wrong. very very wrong. So Saturday? Massive Caffeine headache as well as wine hangover and lack of sleep…holy goodness.

    But 6 shots? You may be my new hero.

  2. […] of the fridays 16May08 i’m already riled up and ready for the weekend — then pithy goes and turns me onto these […]

  3. […] sugar high i’ve been having a sugar craving all day. i don’t know why (although pithy might tell me it’s because i eat too much protein and not enough carbs), but i’ve been […]

Leave a Reply

 
