popping the question

Tonight, I will embark on something that is part social experiment, part potential for fun with a dash of embarrassment thrown in. I am going speed dating. I’ve tried once before, but never actually made it to the date part of the evening. My friends and I left once I saw a potential “date” twirling the end of his mustache to a fine, waxy point. I shit you not. It was like Poirot came to life and wanted to give speed dating a run.

After mustache man, I avoided the idea of speed dating until moving back to DC. Wanting to take really enjoy the city and not just sit at home watching my Gilmore Girls dvds (or Veronica Mars), I decided to be a bit more proactive in my social life. So on a whim, I plunked down the $35 for HurryDate‘s little outing tonight.

Having never done this before I started drafting a list of questions. Not surprisingly, I probably won’t be able to use half of the questions, since only my twisted mind would find them funny or interesting. The other speed daters would probably smile nervously and inch their way to the blonde at the end of the bar. So, since I won’t unleash the questions on the potential victims at Chi-Cha Lounge, I will let you enjoy:

When I say “Green card”, what’s the first thing that comes to mind?

How many baby mommas do you have?

How many times a day do you withdraw from your spankbank?

On a scale from 1 to 10, please rate your Star Wars addiction.

Mac or PC?

Do you have anything potentially embarrassing that will come up on your background check?

Do you have any Celine Dion, Britney Spears or Jessica Simpson songs on your iPod?

Any chance you are married in a foreign country?

Do you worship the devil?

Do you cry easily?

Do you have a high pain tolerance?

Yup, that ought to weed out the weaklings.

~ by pithycomments on April 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
