Seriously?

Apparently people get a perverted sense of pleasure by jerking me around. Today’s culprit: The woman who gave me life and my ass.

Since the “announcement ,” I have been in an apartment hunting frenzy, the likes of which haven’t been seen since…May of last year. Craigslist is my best friend, my living room is a sea of cardboard, and commuting to DC has become an almost daily occurrence.

After looking at nice places that were out of my price range, driving like mad in snow-ish weather to a complex only to find out I was lied to about apt. availability, and not one, but three apartment listing scams, the decision to buy was made.

After a delightful conversation with a mortgage company, it was decided to wait before buying since I have a small 3rd-world country bankrolled in my school loans (thank you Liberty University, Jerry Falwell and University of Baltimore…I wouldn’t be so bitter had the money gone towards a real college education and not a farce of education).

So, more apartment hunting fun ensued! More miles were driven, more sketchy places were scene and more panic set in. Do I take the place that is charming, but more than I wanted to pay and has no laundry facility? Do I take the dark, depressing apartment that is in the heart of Adams Morgan? Do I take the decent apartment in the Palisades which the property manager who creeps me out and lives in the building? Do I move to…gulp, Virginia???

This morning I had psyched myself up to take the apt with Creepy (seriously, within 5 minutes of meeting him I got the whole story of his ex cheating on him w/ his bf, him having to return the ring, losing a $75 deposit on the ring, blah blah blah. Overshare much?) and was going to send in my application when my phone rang — the motherland was calling.

“I just got out of the shower and decided that you should buy instead of rent.”

ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHH!!!!!

ps. Starving Students movers suck.

~ by pithycomments on January 28, 2008.

One Response to “Seriously?”

  1. Starving students does suck… so does apartment hunting

Leave a Reply

 
